Pineapple Salsa

Pineapple Salsa

Today the calendar says October, but with the temps still in the low 80’s here, I can’t help but feel its still early September. And I hate it. It just doesn’t seem right that I’m wearing shorts and sandals in October. The Canadian in me yearns for the cooler, more comfortable weather, the boots and bonfires, the apple picking and pumpkin carving. Yes, I love all of the cliches of autumn, because they are comforting and remind me of family.

Despite all of this, I just can’t cook like its fall. It’s just too damn warm to fire up the oven and braise a roast. Thankfully, a cold front is rolling in next week. But today I made pineapple salsa to go along with the Asian pork tacos I’ll be grilling later on. I couldn’t find any organic pineapple at the store, but there were organic jalapeños, garlic and cilantro. I love how the spicy kick is tempered by the sweetness of the fruit. It might say October, but here’s a salsa recipe to go with the last of the Indian summer.

Pineapple Salsa

Pineapple Salsa
2 cups fresh pineapple, chunked
2 organic jalapeños, small dice (you can remove the seeds and ribs, but I left them in for the spice)
1/2 medium red onion, small dice
2 cloves organic garlic, minced
2 tsp minced ginger
Juice of 1 lime
1 large handful of organic cilantro, chopped
1 tbls sesame oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Preparation
1. Combine all ingredients. Let stand at room temperature for an hour, or in the fridge for at least 2 hours to let flavors develop.

2. Serve with grilled fish, chicken or pork or with chips.

One thought on “Pineapple Salsa

  1. Pingback: Asian pork al pastor | Kinda Organic

Leave a Reply

